Tasty Foods #1: Tater Soup

So, I believe in the introduction post, I said something about posting some recipes that I have found to be tasty, and I haven’t really done that. I’ve really only been cooking regularly for about 6 months now, but I’ve come to enjoy it. In fact, it’s become one of my favorite hobbies, and while I’m certainly not the greatest cook in the world, I’ve become reasonably competent at it. (I know that’s encouraging, right?) It’s a bit of a challenge sometimes, because I am pretty picky and my tastes run to the unsophisticated (mmm chicken fingers…pizza. What’s that? Vegetables, you say? No thanks….) My husband, on the other hand, will pretty much eat anything (or at least try it once). Even though we were both raised in the same town with fairly southern families, his tastes are much more southern than mine. He loves sweet tea, gravy, and green beans cooked with ham or fatback (if you don’t know what fatback is, well… perhaps you’re better off). I, on the other hand, am not a tea drinker, I prefer the gravy at least a foot away from my turkey, and fatback makes me ill thinking about it. There is also the issue of seafood: he loves it, I can’t get past the smell and the way it looks to even try it.

However, in our experimentations while living together, we have decided on plenty of recipes that we both like. Today, I bring you potato soup! I originally got the base for this recipe from Yahoo! Food (yes, I’m on Yahoo! a lot… don’t judge), and then we modified it by throwing random stuff into it and it came out pretty darn tasty. If you like super thick soup (and we do), you can add flour to it. Start with a couple of tablespoons full and add more if you want it.

Ingredients:

– 6 potatoes, peeled, washed, and cubed

– 1 14.5 oz can of chicken broth

– 1 medium onion, chopped

– 2 tsps butter (or margarine)

– 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

– 3-4 cloves of garlic

– parsley, salt, pepper, and seasoned salt to taste*

Steps:

1. In a medium pot over medium heat, combine potatoes and broth and let simmer for about 20 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, in a separate skillet over medium heat, saute the onions and garlic in the butter for about 5-10 minutes.

3. Add the onion/garlic, cream, and seasonings to the potato-broth mixture and stir well.

4. Let simmer for 10-15 more minutes. Serve with cheese on top if you want.

*I kind of wing it when I add spices/seasoning, so I usually can’t provide an accurate estimate for how much I add in.

 This goes pretty well with some crusty bread, and it’s a good thing to make when it’s cold or when you want some comfort food. Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

