The awesomeness of Anthony Hamilton

I didn’t grow up in the ghetto. In fact, I’ve had a pretty easy life so far. My parents are still together and they’ve never cheated on each other. I was never abused, we never lost our house, and we always had enough food on the table, even though we occasionally struggled for money when I was a little kid. I grew up in the suburbs of Richmond, VA, went to a pretty decent high school, and then went on to a little private college in Lynchburg, VA. This charmed life, however, does not stop me from belting out Anthony Hamilton’s songs (badly) when I’m alone. Much of his music deals with painful topics, like growing up in the ghetto, being betrayed by a woman he loves, etc. There’s even one that pleads the case of an unborn child to a mother considering abortion (“Can I Live”). Anthony Hamilton’s voice is smooth and beautiful, reminiscent of the great Motown singers, and there is a strong vein of spirituality that runs through many of his songs. I just can’t pull myself away from his songs, so I’d like to share one with you. This is “Comin’ From Where I’m From.”

Leave a Reply

