Tasty Foods #2: Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Today I would like to share another tasty recipe with you, but let me begin by saying that I did not create this recipe. I am not talented enough to be able to actually come up with a “recipe” by throwing together the contents of my pantry. This one actually came from http://www.allrecipes.com, which is a pretty awesome site, regardless of your cooking abilities. They have easy stuff for novices like me, and they have stuff that would make an Iron Chef nervous.

I don’t know if you’re like me or not, but I like a good solid casserole. They are tasty, filling, and provide plenty of leftovers to take for lunches. This is one such awesome casserole. The first time I made it a couple weeks ago, I thought it was pretty good. After the third time I had the leftovers, I was addicted. I finally gave in to my craving tonight and made a huge amount of it, despite the fact that I was the only one home. Not only was it a filling dinner, but I now have my next 6 lunches and dinners planned for the week. This makes between 6 and 8 servings, depending on how hungry you are when dishing it out.

Ingredients:

-1 1/3 cup uncooked white rice

-2 2/3 cup water

-4 chicken breasts

-2 cups shredded Montery Jack cheese

-2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

-1 10.75 oz can cream of mushroom soup

-1 10.75 oz can cream of chicken soup

-1 chopped onion

-1 1/2 cups mild salsa

Preparation:

-Place rice and water in a sauce pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer 20 minutes

-Meanwhile, place chicken breasts in large saucepan and fill with water. Boil, then cook for 20 minutes until done. Remove and cut into bite size pieces (when cool enough).

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking dish.

-In a medium bowl, combine the cheese. In a separate bowl, combine the soups, salsa, and onion. Layer half the rice, half the chicken, half the soup mixture, and half the cheesein the baking dish. Repeat, ending with cheese on top.

-Bake for 40 minutes or until bubbly.

-Stuff your face =)

Leave a Reply

