An open letter to the upstairs neighbor

Dear upstairs neighbors:

You smoke in the bathroom (directly above MY bathroom), causing my towels and under-sink area to reek of cigarette smoke. You choose to do your vacuuming at 2 am. Your kids running around in your apartment sounds like a buffalo and an elephant engaged in a UFC-style throwdown. You wake me up in the morning screaming at your children and wake me up at night by having sex on the World’s Loudest Mattress 6 feet above my head. And then you have the audacity to ask me to turn down my music so your little hellions can take a nap in the middle of the afternoon? Excuse me for laughing at you and slamming the door in your face.

Sincerely,
The downstairs neighbor

2 Responses to “An open letter to the upstairs neighbor”

  1. Pie Says:

    What a nightmare!

    I had a neighbour from hell living above me years ago. It started well enough, but deteriorated in direct proportion to the number of times I had to go upstairs and tell him to stop the full volume music at 2am/5am, or whenever he had a new girlfriend, or was just in the mood. Then the deliberate dropping of heavy objects on his floor, which felt like something was going to come through my ceiling started, along with the verbal abuse. It got so bad I thought I was going mad and it made me ill. Eventually I moved out, but not before I made a promise to myself that I would never, ever be the neighbour underneath. I will always be on top. And I haven’t failed on that promise yet.

    • miscellaneoussheepery Says:

      I’m actually moving in 3 days. It’s another downstairs apartment but the person living in the top apartment is moving out and going to basic training for the army. Hopefully it will be empty for awhile.


Leave a Reply

