What the Duck?

On my travels through the interwebs, I have come across several photos of large rubber ducks. I mean, REALLY large rubber ducks – like, the size of a house. Naturally, since I am a human being and lover of rubber duckies, this piqued my curiosity. Why is there a house-sized ducky floating near Osaka, Japan? What are this duck’s intentions? Who put him there? IS the duck a “him”? How can I get a huge duck to float down the Cumberland River in TN? Is there anything more awesome? Here are the answers to these questions that I have found:

This massive bathtime buddy is the brainchild of a Dutch artist named Florentijn Hofman. The ducky has appeared in several places around the world, including Osaka, Japan; Amsterdam; Sao Paulo, Brazil; and a few other places around Europe. According to Mr. Hofman’s website (http://www.florentijnhofman.nl/dev/), “The Rubber Duck knows no frontiers, it doesn’t discriminate people and doesn’t have a political connotation. The friendly, floating Rubber Duck has healing properties: it can relieve mondial tensions as well as define them. The rubber duck is soft, friendly and suitable for all ages!”

What a benevolent-sounding duck! Based on this information, however, it seems the duck is genderless, which in a way makes it seem a little more friendly. I don’t know if it’s possible to get the duck to visit me in Tennessee (we are probably not a metropolitan enough area), but if he should ever make an appearance, I will certainly be there.

A friendly, happy duck, with no political message – I think we could use more art like this – art just for the sake of making people smile, with no hidden agendas. The answer to the last question I asked is this” Clearly, there is nothing more awesome than a massive rubber ducky.

(I do not claim the rights to the picture above. I didn’t take the photo – I stole it off the internet)

One Response to “What the Duck?”

  1. samantha Says:

    I am a lover of rubber ducks!! my nick name is Rubber duckie and if i ever saw this i would be in shock Florentijn Hofman. did a very amazing job on this large duck and I would love to meet him


Leave a Reply

