Where Are the Feasts We Were Promised?

“Believe none of what you hear and only half of what you see.” -proverb

Over the past several years of my life, I have been lied to repeatedly, mostly by people that I do not personally know. Speakers at both high school and college graduations have told me that the world is my oyster – that if I work hard and do well at the tasks given to me, I will be successful in both my career and life. I have been told that The Mission is Accomplished and that unemployment won’t go over 10%. I’ve been told that education is one of the most recession-proof career fields. I have been told that the economy is on the rebound and that things are looking up, up, up! I’ve been told that eating no bread but all the bacon you want will lead to weight loss. I’ve been told that Facebook has improved its privacy controls. I have been told that there were WMDs in Iraq, and I have been told that there were NOT WMDs in Iraq. I’ve been told that Iran is not building nuclear weapons and that North Korean didn’t attack that South Korean ship and by golly if you retaliate we’ll blow you up. I’ve been told that President Clinton DID NOT have sexual relations with that woman, Ms. Lewinsky. I was told that Senator Larry Craig just has a wide bathroom stance and was for sure not hitting on that cop. I’ve been told that the Gulf oil spill has been stopped… three times. I’ve been told that Lady Gaga is a true artist, not just some pop singer looking for attention. I was told that some companies are just too big to fail. I was promised “hope” and “change,” along with no new taxes on families making under $250,000 a year. I’ve been told that $3,000 shoes and handbags are “investment pieces” and that it’s ok to give it up on the first date – no, it doesn’t make you a whore, it just means you know what you want. I’ve been told that the climate is changing and it’s all my fault because I breathe too much. I’ve been told that Biggie, 2pac, Elvis, and Jim Morrison are all dead… and alive. I’ve been told that, crazy as it sounds, unemployment going up is actually good. I’ve been told that the United States government knocked down the Twin Towers. I’ve been told that no one knows where Osama bin Laden is. I’ve been told the “swamp” that is Congress (specifically the House) is going to be “drained.” You can’t believe everything you hear.

(The title for this post is taken from a poem written by Jim Morrison of The Doors that was turned into the song “Ghost Song” by the rest of the band. It is my favorite Doors song. Hippie awesomeness at its best. You should listen to it below.)

2 Responses to “Where Are the Feasts We Were Promised?”

  1. grammieida Says:

    That is a beautiful rant. I love it!


Leave a Reply

