Memphis in May

A couple of weekends ago, my neighbors, my husband, my best friend and I all drove out to Memphis for the Beale Street Music Festival, which is part of the month-long Memphis in May celebration. This particular music festival consisted of 3 days of absurdly large alcoholic drinks, enough mud to accommodate a half dozen pig farms, a cloud of pot smoke that extended halfway down the Mississippi, and some pretty awesome bands of all genres. Some of the more well-known bands included Cake, Stone Temple Pilots, B.O.B, Jason Mraz, Cage the Elephant, Everclear, Ludacris, Drowning Pool, Godsmack, Ziggy Marley, Gregg Allman, and Sublime with Rome(!!!). We saw Cake the first night, and we saw some of STP but I started feeling like I was going to pass out (no, NOT from alcohol, thank you) so I had to go sit down and get something to eat. The next day we spent drinking obscene amounts of alcohol (well, I tried, but my body doesn’t like booze, so I didn’t drink much). After my companions were good and hammered, we wandered from Beale St. down to the park for the shows. The plan was to see Ludacris, but due to excessive alcohol consumption on the part of my friends, we didn’t make it. Probably just as well.

On Sunday (the last day), we saw Ziggy Marley, Greg Allman, the Avett Brothers, Cee Lo Green, and (most importantly to me) Sublime with Rome. During Sublime’s set, a very drunk gentleman in front of me turned around and said, “We killed bin Laden! Fuckin’ America!” My husband and I glanced at each other skeptically and went back to enjoying the show. About 20 minutes later, a girl who looked substantially more sober than the other guy turned to one of her friends and said basically the same thing. I still wasn’t 100% sold. Maybe there was some kind of fake news story going around, so I checked a few news sites on my husband’s phone, and sure enough, we had gotten him. So basically, it was an awesome night, and an awesome weekend. In a couple of weeks we’re going to Bonnaroo. I hope it can meet the high standard set by Memphis in May!

Leave a Reply

